James Boyd White Award

Submit for this Award

Nominations for the award must be received in May, following the conference.

With this award we recognize and honor the originality and excellence of individual contributions to the field, and acknowledge our indebtedness to these individuals for their commitment to the interdisciplinary study of law, culture and the humanities.

Featured Winner(s)

  • 2023

    naomi mezey

    Agnes Williams Sesquicentennial Professor of Law and Culture, Georgetown Law

Show Full List

  • 2022

    George Pavlich

    Henry Marshall Tory Chair and Professor in the Department of Sociology and the Faculty of Law, University of Alberta

  • 2020

    Patricia Williams

    University Distinguished Professor of Law and Humanities, and Director of Law, Technology and Ethics, Northeastern University

  • 2019

    James Martel

    Professor of Political Science, San Francisco State University

  • 2018

    Jennifer Culbert

    Professor of Political Science, Johns Hopkins University

  • 2017

    Nasser Hussain

    Professor of Law, Jurisprudence, and Social Thought, Amherst College

  • 2016

    Carol Greenhouse

    Arthur W. Marks Professor of Anthropology, Princeton University

  • 2015

    Linda Ross Meyer

    Professor of Law, Quinnipiac University, CT.

  • 2014

    Costas Douzinas

    Professor of Law and Director of Birkbeck Institute for the Humanities
    Birkbeck School of Law, University of London

  • 2013

    Jeanne Gaakeer

    Endowed Professor of Legal Theory, School of Law, Erasmus University Rotterdam
    Justice in the Appellate Court of The Hague, Criminal Law Section

  • 2012

    Janet Halley

    Royall Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

  • 2011

    Marianne Constable

    Zaffaroni Family Chair in Undergraduate Education Professor of Rhetoric, University of California at Berkeley

  • 2010

    Peter Goodrich

    Professor of Law and Director of Law and Humanities
    Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University

  • 2009

    Robin West

    Frederick J. Haas Professor of Law and Philosophy
    Associate Dean for Research and Academic Programs
    Georgetown University Law Center

  • 2008

    Peter Brooks

    Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Scholar, Princeton University Center for Human Values

    Sterling Professor of Comparative Literature Emeritus, Yale University

  • 2007

    Peter Fitzpatrick

    Anniversary Professor of Law, Birkbeck School of Law, University of London

  • 2006

    Austin Sarat

    William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Jurisprudence and Political Science, Amherst College