Law, Culture, and the Humanities awards annual prizes to outstanding dissertations and conference presentations, and recognizes significant scholarly achievement in the field.


Join the LCH conversation on 22 – 23 June 2023.

Julien Mezey Dissertation Award

The Julien Mezey Dissertation Award is an annual prize awarded to the dissertation that most promises to enrich and advance interdisciplinary scholarship at the intersection of law, culture and the humanities.

  • Featured Winner(s)


    ELIZABETH RULE (co-winner)

    “Reproducing Resistance: Gendered Violence and Indigenous Nationhood​”

    Ph.D, American Studies, Brown University

    This work brings together Native American studies by indigenous people in combination with critical legal theory in a subtle and nuanced fashion. This project takes the insights of film theory very seriously, yielding a compelling account of the gendered violence at the border.

    EMILY PRIFOGLE (co-winner)

    “Cows, Cars, and Criminals: The Legal Landscape of the Rural Midwest, 1920- 1975​”

    Ph.D, History, Princeton University

    This project employs a creative use of history, space and law in its unique methodological approach. Prifogle also combines personal narrative in combination with this structural analysis in a highly inventive fashion. The projects knits together individual, collective, and legal strands into its analysis in a sophisticated manner.

Austin Sarat Award

The Austin Sarat Award is a prize offered to a graduate student for an outstanding paper presented at the LCH annual conference.

  • Featured Winner(s)


    Elizabeth Rule

James Boyd White Award

With this award we recognize and honor the originality and excellence of individual contributions to the field, and acknowledge our indebtedness to these individuals for their commitment to the interdisciplinary study of law, culture and the humanities.

  • Featured Winner(s)


    George Pavlich

    Henry Marshall Tory Chair and Professor in the Department of Sociology and the Faculty of Law, University of Alberta